Continental Europe Synchronisation with Ukraine and Moldova Power Systems

Following an urgent request by Ukrenergo and Moldova for emergency synchronisation, the TSOs of Continental Europe agreed to start on 16 March 2022 the trial synchronisation of the Continental European Power System with the power systems of Ukraine and Moldova. This acceleration of the synchronisation project ongoing since 2017 has been possible thanks to the previous studies carried out and the adoption of risks mitigation measures.

Continental Europe TSOs are now supporting the stability of the Ukrainian-Moldovan power system following a positive analysis which confirmed that an emergency synchronisation is technically feasible with a number of measures to ensure safe and secure power systems.

This is a significant milestone for the Continental Europe TSOs working in collaboration with Ukrenergo and Moldelectrica that are operating their respective power systems under extremely difficult circumstances. ENTSO-E thanks the European Commission, all TSOs involved and their national authorities for their support and assistance in the synchronisation process.


Europe’s Energy Regulators Stand with Ukraine in Power Grid Synchronisation with Continental Europe

Europe’s energy regulators represented by their EU Agency, ACER, and the national regulators’ association, CEER, offer support to the massive efforts to address the emergency situation in Ukraine to ensure uninterrupted and safe energy supply. The Transmission System Operators (TSOs) of Continental Europe completed the emergency synchronisation of the Ukrainian and Moldovan power grids with Continental Europe.

ACER and CEER offer support to the regulator of Ukraine and those of the bordering countries, that is Hungary, Moldova, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia, so that they can react quickly to upcoming needs.

Already some measures have been taken by regulators and others to ensure firm reverse flow capacities into Ukraine so that they can continue to receive gas from the EU. ACER and CEER recognise the work of the Energy Community colleagues in coordinating regulatory support to Ukraine and they in turn offer their support and services to the Energy Community.

Regulators remain committed, in close coordination with EU policy makers and TSOs, to ensure security of energy supply in Europe in the coming period.

Commenting on the situation, the ACER Director, Christian Zinglersen, stated: “We applaud the round-the-clock efforts of the Transmission System Operators (TSOs) of the Regional Group Continental Europe (RGCE), ENTSO-E, ENTSOG, Ministries, the European Commission, the Energy Community, regulators, industry, and others who are working tirelessly to help the Ukrainian TSO and regulator to power and warm homes and hospitals in Ukraine in these difficult times”.

On the diverse CEER support for Ukraine, the CEER President, Annegret Groebel, added: “CEER represents 39 European national regulatory authorities for energy. We are all united in sympathy for the suffering of the Ukrainian people and our concern for colleagues in the National Energy and Utilities Regulatory Commission (NEURC) of Ukraine. We stand in solidarity with Ukraine.”


About the Continental Europe Synchronous Area

The Continental Europe Synchronous Area (CESA) is the largest synchronous electrical grid (by connected power) in the world. The synchronised frequency is 50 Hz and the area supplies over 400 million customers in 24 countries, including most of the European Union. Transmission system operators (TSOs) in CESA have the responsibility to maintain the frequency at 50 Hz in order to ensure the stability of the system. This means energy resources and consumption always must be balanced across the synchronous area. The Continental Europe area gathers the following countries: Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Croatia, Denmark (West), France, Republic of North Macedonia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Italy, Luxemburg, Montenegro, Nederland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Serbia (which includes Kosovo), Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Switzerland, Turkey.


About ACER

The Agency for the Cooperation of Energy Regulators (ACER) is a European Union Agency.

ACER plays a central role in the development of EU-wide network and market rules with a view to enhancing competition. The Agency coordinates regional and cross regional initiatives, which favour market integration. It monitors the work of the European networks of transmission system operators (ENTSOs), and notably, their EU-wide ten-year network development plans (TYNDPs).

ACER also monitors the functioning of gas and electricity markets in general, and of wholesale energy trading in particular.


About CEER

The Council of European Energy Regulatory (CEER) is the association of Europe’s national regulatory authorities (NRAs), serving as their voice at EU and global level. CEER’s members and observers, from 39 European countries, are the independent statutory bodies responsible for energy regulation at national level. CEER, based in Brussels, deals with a broad range of energy issues including retail markets and consumers; distribution networks; smart grids; flexibility; sustainability; and international cooperation.


About Energy Community

The Energy Community is an international organisation which brings together the European Union and its neighbours to create an integrated pan-European energy market, including Ukraine and Moldova. The key objective of the Energy Community is to extend the EU internal energy market rules and principles to countries in Southeast Europe, the Black Sea region and beyond on the basis of a legally binding framework. The Energy Community has established an emergency gas energy supply group whose purpose is to coordinate and respond at short notice in case of disruptions to gas supplies disruptions in Eastern Europe/South-East Europe, which may also have an impact on electricity supplies.



ENTSO-E, the European Network of Transmission System Operators for Electricity, is the association for the cooperation of the European transmission system operators (TSOs). The 39 member TSOs, representing 35 countries, are responsible for the secure and coordinated operation of Europe’s electricity system, the largest interconnected electrical grid in the world. In addition to its core, historical role in technical cooperation, ENTSO-E is also the common voice of TSOs.



Back to top button